2017 – A Personal Summary

This year has not only gone by dramatically fast, but it’s been an interesting one in many ways.

Looking at the big picture that affects all of us… News from around the world has been shocking. There have been days where I haven’t barely looked at my phone or a tv, I’ve wanted to try and remain blissfully ignorant just for one more day because it can all get a bit much. However, my interest in politics has certainly become much more prevalent and I feel that my votes have been much more well-informed this year.Essentially, fuck racism, facism and homophobia, fuck people who don’t care about the environment and fuck people who don’t care about poor people. Fuck terror attacks, and people with full time jobs having to use food banks. Fuck people who don’t think global warming is real.My personal battles and victories are much smaller than these, obviously. But I feel a lot stronger and well informed and making an effort to help others. I work in education and funding cuts have been REAL, comforting desperately sad parents because their child is losing access to a crucial service is hard and soul destroying. I am moving into a new job where I help families who are going through a hard time and I’m feeling positive if not a little daunted by it.

I started this blog this year too. I learnt about self-care, and not feeling guilty. I stopped exercising so much, because I had started to HATE it and I was prioritising my looks over how I felt. Now I am much happier with my body and myself. I have the occasional dip, but I feel I am on the up. I also haven’t hurt myself in a long time. I have a strong relationship with my partner. We have saved some money. We’ve talked about adoption in the future. I learnt that my mum has a genetic heart condition, and I might have it too. We’re going on two trips away, at least, next year.

Life ebbs and flows. We have the good and the bad and we can’t change that but we can learn to live with it and remember the positives, and the lessons we have learnt from our mistakes. Thank you to everyone who has provided me with words of support and wisdom on here and instagram, and thank you for all of the inspiration I see every single day.

Have a bloody fantastic, healthy and happy new year everyone! Keep doing you.

Leave a comment