Being the “Big Friend” 

I have always felt like the goofy, unattractive friend in my group. I’m best friends with the most amazing, supportive girls and I’m very lucky to have them. However, AGAIN with the comparison thing- I look at them and see the most wonderful humans on the planet and then I take a look at my self and it’s very hard to see something like that in me. Its ridiculous though, and I’m starting to feel better about it because I started to tell myself these things… 

  1. My friends are my friends, it’s a two way thing and they are not just “putting up with me”.
  2. My friends are honest, and they make me feel good about myself in hundreds of different ways.
  3. My friends are beautiful, and so am I!

I don’t know where this idea came from that made me feel like my face and body made me inferior to my own friends. Well, I guess it was my own self loathing and comparison. We are told to be nice to others and awful to ourselves. We’re told it’s rude to accept compliments and not dismiss them, we’re told it’s vain to take selfies, we’re told it’s vulgar to love ourselves. Guess what? None of those things are true!

Just because I might be a dress size or two up from my friends does not make me any less of a good friend or a person. We are all completely different and how we look is not a competition. A younger me would have never said these things, because I’ve been told everyday that looks are important. It’s how you feel that’s important.

I hope everyone’s having a good day. I’m really enjoying writing about my feelings on this topic!

C x

Leave a Reply

